Eban Olivier Responds to My Blog Post

As some may know, I wrote a fairly extensive criticism of Mr Eban Olivier, regarding his reaction to Diane Coetzer. Mr Oliver has sent me an email in reply. It was not calling for my death, but actually attempted what I’d hoped for from Mr Olivier. With his permission, I reprint his email in full [and sic].—-

Morning Sir.

Please remove the Statement that “My Company is Catalyst Entertainment” – I was the Freelance Director for them, I am not a part owner.

Also please note that no one is commenting about the topic that the Theatre show was a hosting device for the 1st ever Rock opera to be broadcasted to:

1. 3D Television Networks around the world LIVE
2. HD Television Networks around the world LIVE
3. 3D Cinema LIVE
4. And Facebook LIVE PAY PER VIEW.

This is what the project consisted of in it’s core.

Also – The Management of the Parlotones insisted that the show goes live for the public and press on rehearsal night. We strongly contested it but we did not have a say in this matter.

Amendments to the show was made leading up to the live broadcast evening and that was a success. Only the US is commenting on the overwhelming impact it had on DIRECT TV 3D … most people in the local market did not even know it happened.

Simple example… Company X builds the fastest super car in the world… Their local “experts” only focus on the poor choice of tyre’s for this vehicles purpose – BUT the bigger picture still claims that it was the fastest super car ever build – Most criticism will deplete as they look up from the tyre’s and notice the success of the actual entirety!

Thank you for at least putting some “perspective” out there in your article.

Regards
Eban

—-

So from my side, I should indicate Mr Olivier is not the owner of Catalyst. I did not actually say this, but if Mr Oliver wishes for me to highlight this, then so be it. It is, of course, largely irrelevant to my actual criticism. Furthermore, what the concert did or did not do is also irrelevant to his reaction to Ms Coetzer’s post.

However, as I also said, he will have a valid claim if the rehearsal problem was legitimate. It is unfortunate that the concert went ahead despite his (and probably Catalyst’s?) protests. Furthermore, it is unfortunate that many people in South Africa did not realise what a major event this was; not just in South Africa, apparently, but the world. And while there are further things to congratulate – if they were (a) true [and I have no reason to doubt Mr Olivier] and (b) if they were successful – this still, I think misses my point. As someone who has a very loose connection with performance arts, I think these all sound very exciting.

But, to reiterate my problem: You can have the world’s greatest show, ground-breaking and genre-defying, etc., but still act incorrectly toward criticism. While Mr Olivier has good reason to be frustrated that the criticisms missed all the efforts and success he claims, it does not mean he has the right to call for physical violence when criticism is offered. I still think Mr Olivier needs to simply admit he acted incorrectly and was overreacting, which, to my knowledge, he has done to some degree. I think he would do well to not just to apologise but articulate back to us our reasons for condemning his reaction. If he can explain, for example, to us and Ms Coetzer, specifically, exactly why he was wrong to react in that ridiculous way, then I would be mostly satisfied – and if he not only explained it, but understood WHY it is wrong to act in such a way toward another person, even digitally.

Importantly, I am no one in this debate. Mr Olivier doesn’t owe me an explanation or justification. His reactions do, however, tie into a continual concern I have about people’s engagement with others via the Interwebs. This has ramifications beyond the online world, leading to destroyed friendships and silliness from people we usually respect.

One thought on “Eban Olivier Responds to My Blog Post

  1. Hmmm.. he chooses a telling example.

    The freelance director of ‘Company X’ cannot see that his poor choice of tyres and voluntary alienation from the local experts means that though he thinks he has built the fastest supercar in the world, what he has instead achieved in super-fast time is create a reputation for being dangerous, thoughtless and reckless.

    Sorry Eban, I don’t buy it. Good tyres maketh the fast car, just as manners maketh the man.

Leave a Reply

